IWD: to the rad women in my life (there’s a lot of you)

Happy International Women’s Day!! On this day, I just wanted to take some time to celebrate a tiny, tiny portion of the incredible women in my life.

tumblr_n25foh6aDg1qc4uvwo1_500

chibird.com

Mum: You’re the mom whose kids are forced to hear, over and over, “your mom is the best” and the only possible answer is “I know.” I have never met a more fair and compassionate person in my life. You know what you believe in but always value genuine communication over arguments. Your commitment to making sure that everyone is able to express their feelings and feel listened to and appreciated holds our family together. You’ve taught me to say no when I’m feeling overwhelmed, that it’s okay to take time for myself (something that doesn’t come as easy to either of us). Thank you for always leading by example. If it’s true that all daughters turn into their mothers, I’m okay with that.

IMG_0512

LOVE YOU ♥♥♥

RLAdies & Kate:* I’ll tell anyone who’ll listen that my experience on this don team has been like no other, that this is the most supportive, wonderful team that I’ve ever been a part of, and that is due in such huge part to you. All 3 of you are so kind and capable. Thank you for always checking up on us and making sure that we know how valued and supported we are. Thank you for forcing me to accept TTC tokens to get off campus when I was feeling stifled, for being the best listeners, for being smart and hilarious and genuine. If we could create some sort of hybrid version of all 3 of you, I’m pretty sure they could take over the world. You all together certainly could.

10410394_713794808673882_3827261435899006048_n_0

herworld.com

*translation for anyone who doesn’t speak Glendon Res Life: the RLAdies (Sarah & Olivia) are like the dons of the dons (that’s me!). Kate is our Residence Life Coordinator (RLC) aka the Supreme Leader of Glendon Residence.

My C house girls: When I first applied for donship, I tentatively put out that I had enjoyed living on an all girls’ floor and wouldn’t mind doing so again. Then I got assigned to one and heard warnings from so many people that girls were catty, girls were vicious, girls were mean. But for every time I hear that, I see 10 times over that girls are kind, girls are supportive, girls are wonderful.

Thank you for cheering each other on when you’re not feeling your best. Thank you for movie nights, gym dates, and dance parties. Watching you go from strangers to our own little community has been the most incredible experience. Thank you for this year — je vous aime beaucoup ❤

tumblr_static_89xcglll2b4swkkwwgw0c0gss

you can find this + more art at etsy.com/shop/SatrunTwinsArtShop 

***

Thank you to the women in my life who motivate me to do better. Thank you to the ones who support me when I’m struggling, celebrate with me when I’m doing well. Thank you for the insightful, rich, honest conversations about the challenges you’ve faced and the ways you’re dealing with them. Talking to all of you about gender issues, whether in the form of nuanced applications of a feminist lens in academia or rants in the hallway about micro-aggressions has made me both more critical and more understanding.

Thank you for handing out compliments like candy, lending me your clothes and pens and hair ties, giving me my space and giving me company.

I’m better for having known of all of you ❤ Today’s for you.

Questions? Comments? I'd love to hear from you!