Mid-November Check In

Typing this title felt SO weird — how is it already November?! While my head is telling me it can’t already be this late into the year, my body and schedule are definitely aware. It’s a really busy time of the year with exams coming up and the assignment load piling up. Essays on essays on essays.

But enough of that. This week I’m more interested in talking about the exciting things going on in my life than the stressful ones so let’s get started!

READING

Heir of Fire (Throne of Glass, #3)Falling into Place

If you’re remotely interested in YA fantasy novels good books, give Sarah J. Maas’s Throne of Glass series a try. I read the latest one a month ago (sooo not in November but like I said, I’VE BEEN BUSY) and I’ve been thinking about it ever since. I don’t really like to use the word “epic” but… THIS BOOK IS EPIC. Intricate and enthralling and fast-paced and just excellent.

I haven’t read Falling into Place yet but I’ve heard great things. It’s recommended for fans of Lauren Oliver, Gayle Forman and Jay Asher (AKA ME) so if you’re into their work, check it out and we can discuss feels!

WATCHING

orphan-black-poster

I’m laughing as I look at this line of pictures because… what? Clearly I have some diverse interests. I’ve been re-watching episodes of The Mindy Project and now that I’m all (re)caught up, I’m excited to start the new season! As for Orphan Black, I STILL HAVEN’T SEEN S2!!! I watched the entire first season in a couple of days and it was amaaazing. I need to get a move on before I hear a spoiler! As for the last picture, it’s Grand Prix season in the figure skating world! 🙂 This is probably the first year that I’ve followed the competitions so closely and I’m really enjoying myself.

IRL

  • last week some friends and I went out for brunch and a trip to Ripley’s Aquarium. I had a blast! Mission Leave this Tiny, Beautiful Campus Once in a While is on the right track!
  • over the last couple of months I’ve been helping to direct a play at a spiritual organization in Toronto that I belong to and today was the big day! HOORAY! It went so well and I couldn’t be more proud of my girls
  • the Glendon Order of the Phoenix Yule Ball is coming up on Friday and I’M SO EXCITED! Wizards do it best

Like I said at the beginning of this post, this can be a stressful time for a lot of people and I’m certainly no exception. Thinking about the little things that I’m getting my energy from is so helpful in keeping me grounded. Stay positive, friends!

PS – It’s taken a bit of trial and error but I’m going to be moving my posting date to Sunday for the foreseeable future. It doubles as either the start or end to the week depending on how you look at it and it’s usually a time of the week when things have calmed down a bit for me school-wise. I’m excited and hope you are too! See you next Sunday 🙂

Questions? Comments? I'd love to hear from you!